Random Things I Miss From The ’90s (and probably from the early 2000s)

A Tamagotchi Connexion V1

A Tamagotchi Connexion V1 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Because it’s been raining heavily since Sunday. Why not reminisce about the 90s? Ok let’s start!

Tamagotchi

Tamagotchi are these little pocket games that that ignited my motherly instincts as a child. I remember my pixelated pet of unknown species kept dying on me every single day no matter how much I pay attention to it. Says a lot about my future children, joke!

Spice Girls

The promotional poster for the film Spiceworld.

The promotional poster for the film Spiceworld. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

A 90s compilation won’t be complete without the Spice Girls! I remember me and my cousins would fight over Baby Spice (I lost so I became Sporty Spice :( ) and we’d dance in front of their aquarium so we’d see ourselves. We memorized all of their dance steps especially Stop, most specially Stop. From all those repetitions I remember the steps even now.

Bubble Bag by Jolina

Jolina Magdangal
As much as I dislike ’90s Jolina Magdangal‘s (aka jologs) style, I haven’t seen another local celebrity have his/her own unique style, let alone start trends without copying from international celebrities.  Two of the things Jolengs started, which I do not regret following, are the butterfly clip (which I’ve seen recently in Accessorize) and the bubble bag. The latter – a bag, pillow, and floater in one – may just be the solution to typhoons and flooding. What can I say, Jolina’s ahead of her time. haha

Nescafe Frothe

Kopiko Kopiccino couldn’t even hold a candle.

The Real Polly Pocket

Polly Pocket
I remember I had the pink scented ice cream shop, the one that comes with skirts, the koala, and a necklace and earrings set. I don’t know why they gave them Cherifer. They grew from barely an inch to amazons! I wish they make them choking hazards again.

My Childhood Belief in the Government

It sucks, you know? Knowing the stuff you know about everything around you and can’t do anything about it. It sucks!

Maxibon

Maxibon outside

Really what happened to this ice cream? I miss this! I remember saving my allowance just so I could buy this heaven of an ice cream. Now that I have the money, I can’t find this ice cream anymore! What gives?!

Amanda Bynes (Before)

My mind hasn’t been able to comprehend the merge and connect of the rehab/drug-addict(?) Amanda of today with the sweet Amanda of yore. Gosh I miss The Amanda Show and hey look!  AmandaPlease.com is still alive! Which also reminds me of…

Nickelodeon Shows from the 90s

Kenan & Kel

Kenan & Kel (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Gosh! I miss All That, Are You Afraid of the Dark?, Clarissa Explains It All, Double Dare, Figure It Out, Kenan and Kel, Hey Arnold!, Legends of the Hidden Temple and Guts! See more in this Wikipedia compiled list!

I remember planning my own Legends of the Hidden Temple and wanting truckloads of slime for my birthday. Of course it didn’t happen just like most of my childhood dreams. haha

Before I end this post let me just let out this huge *sigh* for the things I miss which, (admit it!) you probably do too. I now leave you with this:

 

Image sources:

Jolina, Polypocket, Amanda Bynes

Leave a Reply

