Enormity, enormity, and more enormity – my thoughts on Every Day by David Levithan

(Every Day book cover from GoodReads.com)

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.

If that premise doesn’t get you to read Every Day, I don’t know what will.

In Every Day, we follow A, an entity(if you must) who wakes up every day, every morning to a different body. He/she becomes that person for a day and goes through the day as usual as that person. He/she never gets too attached and basically does not interfere with the life of the current body he/she’s currently possessing. That is until he/she met Rhiannon. A falls in love and then suddenly he/she realizes all that is missing and how he longs to be normal so that he could be with Rhiannon.

Levithan explores this strange Romeo and Juliet love story of love and loss and then love and losing again every single day. He showed how love can be a primal thing that goes beyond gender, sexual orientation, and background; and of loving a person what they are. It’s like reading love stories of different people on different circumstances, with different perspectives. However, I guess, in favor of exploring these what-ifs he neglected to build the main love story of A and Rhiannon. It seemed superficial and too contrived but then again this is a young adult novel.

Another thing that has bothered me is the author’s use of “Enormity”. I really don’t get it. I don’t want to spoil anything but the book is riddled with “enormity” sometimes I get it but most of the time I don’t. It icked me a bit.

But aside from that, this is a very interesting read and is really worth reading. It made me think of a lot of stuff that I take for granted every day so I give this a 3.7 out of 5 stars.

2 responses to “Enormity, enormity, and more enormity – my thoughts on Every Day by David Levithan

  1. Hi, TheSkepticalReader! thank you for the like 🙂 I followed your book blog. 🙂

  2. Hi, SaraJurisic! Thank you for the like. I also visited your blog. I’m new to WordPress so it’s really nice to find other book bloggers. I followed your book blog as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

