The Heroes of Olympus Book # 3: The Mark of Athena

Image

(Book cover from GoodReads.com)

Note: this are just my thoughts about the book. I tried really hard to make this review/just my random thoughts post spoiler-free. 🙂

This book was given to me by my puso in January. I’ve been meaning to buy this ever since it came out in October of last year. But have only gotten into reading it only this summer (May) because I wasn’t really in the mood for some YA. I have to admit that this was a wrong decision on my part. The book became a difficult read, not because of the vocabulary used but because of a huge number of references from events, to people, to things, to monsters, and to places that happened in the precursory novels of the Percy Jackson series and the prior two novels of the Heroes of Olympus series. I dared not to Google them in lieu of finding spoilers.

I am also on the fence whether I like the multiple first person Riordan utilized for the Heroes of Olympus. I devoured the chapters with Annabeth, Piper, and Percy but hated the ones with Leo. I don’t know. It’s just me. He never really warmed up to me.

Contrary to the title, the book only started exploring the Mark of Athena and its implications somewhere around the third quarter. It’s not really the backbone of the book which might disappoint some of you and I could think several titles more apt. But again, this is just me.

But the adventure we’ve come to crave and love in every Percy Jackson is definitely there.

I rate this 3 out of 5 stars.

By the way, the next book: The House of Hades’ cover was released a couple of days ago.

Image

(Photo also from GoodReads)

Leave a Reply

